Tuesday, October 3

What can you do to get through grief at your own pace?


Grief and anger… These are very human emotions that we all experience, perhaps more than once in a lifetime. Sometimes these feelings can be very tiring and difficult. However, it should be noted that they are quite natural. When we lose someone or something important to us, we naturally react in the following way: we mourn what we have lost. Grief can also bring with it various emotions, such as sadness or loneliness. We can experience all of these emotions for a variety of reasons. We may have lost a loved one, ended a relationship, or lost our job. Even major life changes, such as a chronic illness or a move to a new location, can trigger feelings of grief. And just as the circumstances that bring about the law are different, so the way each person mourns is different. If you understand your feelings, take care of yourself, and seek support, you can work through grief at your own pace.

Stages of grief: how do we feel during the grief process?

Emotions can manifest in stages as the law counters the losses it has caused. You cannot control the grieving process, but knowing the reasons for your feelings will definitely help. As we said above, each person experiences grief differently. However, the stages of grief can be listed as follows:

  • Refusal: When you first hear about loss “No, that’s not happening right now” It’s okay what you think. You may feel shock and numbness. The reason you temporarily feel this way is to cope with the intense flow of emotions that you are actually experiencing. In other words, it is a defense mechanism.
  • Anger: When the truth comes out, you face the pain of loss. You may feel frustrated and helpless. These feelings then turn into anger. You can direct your anger at other people, a higher power, or life in general. It’s actually quite natural to be angry at the person who lost his life and left you alone.
  • To bargain: At this stage, you consider whether there were things in the past that you could have done to prevent the loss. General thoughts: “I want …” and “What if …”. You can also try to make a deal with a higher power.
  • Depression: Sadness begins when you begin to understand your loss and its impact on your life. Symptoms of depression include crying, trouble sleeping, and decreased appetite. You may feel depressed, regretful, and lonely.
  • Adoption: In this final stage of grief, you accept the reality of your loss. This cannot be changed. You can start living your life even if you are still sad.

It is important to live in mourning, making room for it

In recent years, we have seen and heard a lot of talk about inner healing, which we all need to be involved in in order to develop as a society. Some even claim that letting go of grief and forgetting pain is part of it. Maybe it’s because we live in a world full of grief. However, in our reality there are events that call us to slow down, stop and mourn. In other words, “So much has happened that we can’t just keep going.” Most experts agree with us on this. They think we need to create space so that we can heal our wounds.

Unlived grief can stop your healing!

When something terrible happens to us, we tend to go into shock, freeze. When we freeze, sorrow remains in our body. And when this happens over and over again, it can lead to a range of conditions, from behavioral changes such as being constantly angry to various diseases.

For our body to move, it must be a witness to the law and fully feel it. Which is easier said than done. The culture we live in often forces us to “carry on”. But if we don’t stop, we won’t really understand the lessons we need to learn. That’s why we need to stop when necessary and try to understand. Although setting a time and place for this is not easy, mourning requires ceremony, ritual, and support. When we honor and accept our grief, it changes our behavior and how we interact with each other.

So how long does it take?

There can be no perfect time to mourn. Because people experience these emotions in different ways. Your grieving process depends on many things, including your personality, age, beliefs, and support network. The type of loss is also an important factor in this regard. Age What to remember; from these feelings everyone will go at their own pace.

What can you do to get through grief and anger at your own pace?

Like all emotions, sadness fades with time. Grief does not mean forgetting, but with these feelings, one day you will be able to experience happiness and joy again. Here are some rituals you can do for yourself during your grief:

1. Body Involvement

When animals are attacked or injured, they often tremble in response to stress to help their bodies process what has happened. Experts say people can embody the same idea in things like physical work and breathwork. You know such mourning rituals as dancing, wailing, crying; all of this actually allows you to somatically release, alchemize and embrace grief. Breathwork is especially important because certain breathing patterns can provide more space for deep-seated emotions to manifest.

2. Getting support from the social environment

Experts say that it is very important to feel the support of the social environment in moments of grief. It can be extremely helpful to trust the people in your life who “are not trying to fix or change how you feel, or are just testifying without giving you grief advice.” Having a community that shares your grieving process gives you the opportunity to experience and accept your feelings.

3. Keeping a diary

Experts also often point out that journaling can help overcome grief. A notebook in which you write down what is in your heart can help you release your feelings. Of course, you don’t have to do this every day, you can just do it whenever you want. However, if you take the time to write about your experience, your emotions will come out of your body.

Remember; When we don’t work through the grief and anger we feel, that is, when we don’t take time to grieve, the integrity of our soul, body, and mind can suffer. This is for us, and also for the people in our lives; even in the aggregate it is not good. So take the time to be a witness to what’s going on inside of you right now, what’s going on in the world. Give yourself the opportunity to experience grief, no matter how it seems to you.

Sources: mindbodygreen, webmd, psychology today.

You may be interested in: How to help a grieving person

Random Post

Leave a reply