Improve your communication with 5 different love languages


Do you know your love language? What about your partner? Eliminate communication mistakes, express your love correctly and develop a common language of love with a partner is possible! No matter how much we love our partners, sometimes we may feel like we are speechless or misinterpreting signals when expressing them. We may know that communication is the key to a healthy and lasting relationship, but are you communicating with your partner the right way? The Five Love Languages, developed in the 1990s by writer and consultant Gary Chapman, is a way of describing the different ways people like to express and receive love. The five love languages ​​include:

  • Joint behavior
  • physical contact
  • quality time
  • Give gifts / gestures
  • Confirmation / assessment

So, can learning your partner’s love language really help you communicate? Psychotherapist Beverly Blackman’s approach to this issue is noteworthy:

“Learning each other’s love languages ​​(we usually have two options that stand out) can help you understand your partner better. In the early days of a relationship, a person may look for certain behaviors to confirm that the relationship is moving in the right direction. If both partners are aware of their love language and the love language of their partner, this gives them the opportunity to better understand themselves. All love languages ​​are important, as all people are different and have their own way of expressing love. It’s the little acts of connection that keep the relationship balanced, respectful, and alive.”

In fact; our love language is the way we choose to share our feelings with those close to us. By learning more about your own love language and how your partner shows their love, you can begin to avoid many of the misunderstandings and misunderstandings.

1. Separation of behavior

Wouldn’t you feel better if your life were simpler than it is now? One of the things that makes life enjoyable is healthy communication with the people around us and love. If your love language is shared, there is nothing you value more than making life easier for your partner and each other. You firmly believe that actions speak louder than words, whether it’s making breakfast, caring for you when you’re sick, or doing an extra chore or two around the house when you’re feeling overwhelmed or exhausted.

2. Physical contact

What could be better than getting closer? People whose love language is physical touch feel most loved when they share physical signs of love. This includes everything from handshakes to hugs, kisses and sex. Sharing physical touch can create a feeling of intimacy that not only confirms but creates a strong emotional connection as well as a sense of warmth and comfort.

3. Quality time

There is no greater pleasure than having a good time. If quality time is your love language, you will feel most valued when your partner wants to spend time with you. Active listening, eye contact, and your partner’s full attention to you (no social media or other distractions) are essential. The key to meaningful and quality time is to actively spend it with your partner. When you’re with a partner, if you don’t have enough conversations, you don’t understand how time goes by, if you spend time concentrating only on each other and not interested in anything but each other, this is your love language. .

4. Gifts/gestures

You can’t buy someone’s love, but gifts can be a visual, tangible symbol of how you feel. The love language associated with receiving gifts doesn’t involve spending a lot of money; contains sentimental value associated with the thought behind each gift.

Gift giving can be a physical and meaningful process where the recipient feels connected to the gift. The key is to make sure it’s all about the recipient of the gift and not the giver. It’s like sharing a note on a piece of paper, sometimes sharing a slice of fruit, and sometimes going to the store and buying a gift on an outing that’s unplanned and totally sincere. Sometimes this can be of great material value, and sometimes of little value, but is often repeated intermittently because it strengthens the spiritual connection.

5. Confirmation/assessment

Words are stronger than you think. If words of affirmation are your preferred love language, you value verbal affirmations above all else. This may take the form of compliments, encouragement, or words of appreciation. “I love you“If you like to hear it often, if compliments and praise are your rhetoric, if your affirmations are not short sentences but adding comments and praising your partner, that is your love language.

Learning the language of love

While it’s not uncommon for couples to use different love languages, learning your language can be a valuable way to understand each other better. As Beverly explains, “It’s important to understand how your partner’s mind and heart work. So you know they show compassion in their own way. Without this understanding, you may feel uncomfortable or insecure. Communication is the cornerstone of any relationship, and observation always works.”

Research shows that the foundation of a happy and healthy relationship is a shared language of love and communication. Since love language is something that is first taught in one’s own family, it can be very helpful to observe the language of communication in the family while learning your partner’s love language. Since everyone’s love language is different, you can create a new love language for your relationship and “if you are going to live“You can do it.

Stay with love and joy..

You may be interested in: Mindfulness at work: focus on your mind while staying in the moment

Random Post

Leave a reply