7 facts about the royal coronation ceremony


Ceremonies that symbolize the official enthronement of British monarchs are called royal coronations. This tradition, dating back centuries, is done in order to show the splendor of the ruler who will ascend the throne. The coronation ceremony consists of a mixture of political and religious rites. According to many experts, these ceremonies remind everyone of the role that the monarchy once played in England and the world. Mother II. The coronation of King Charles, who took the throne after the death of Elizabeth, will take place on May 6. So let’s take a look at seven facts about British coronations and the royal rituals behind them.

1. Not all members of the royal family are invited to the ceremony.

The list of those invited to British coronations includes members of the royal family and heads of state of the Commonwealth of Nations and around the world. Among those invited are also the Prime Minister of Great Britain and his cabinet, some relatives and friends of the royal family.

Who is not invited to the ceremony is just as important as what happens.

For example, representatives of the Soviet Union did not come to the coronation of Elizabeth in 1953. Because the Cold War was on everyone’s mind. On the other hand, being a member of the royal family does not mean that you will be invited to the ceremony. For example, King George VI’s brother, the Duke and Duchess of Windsor, were not invited to George’s coronation in 1937.

While adults are often invited to coronations, 4-year-old Prince Charles was the first child to attend a coronation in 1953.

2. Coronation has five stages


Confession: The first of these stages is Recognition. At this stage, the future ruler is introduced to the parishioners.

Oath: After the monarch is introduced to the congregation, he takes the Sovereign Oath, also known as the Coronation Oath. Thus, he promises to rule the kingdom with law, justice and mercy. Following the passage of the Coronation Oath Act 1689, the monarch must also take an oath to support the Anglican Evangelical Church.

Blessing: During the consecration, the new monarch sits in the coronation chair, known as the King Edward’s chair. This ritual is performed to consecrate kingship.

Coronation: Upon consecration, the new monarch receives the royal jewels such as the orb, coronation ring, and scepter. These jewels are brought to public display only during the coronation ceremony and other special rites associated with it. The bells are rung as the Archbishop of Canterbury places the crown on the head of the new monarch. Meanwhile, 62 volleys are fired from the Tower of London and the congregation shouts “God Save the King/Queen”.

Respect: Lords, princes and senior members of the family such as the Archbishop of Canterbury and other bishops swear allegiance to the new monarch. If there is a queen, she will also be crowned after this step.

3. The most sacred part of the ceremony is closed to the public.


It is believed that the British monarch ruled by divine right. The Archbishop of Canterbury blesses the monarch with oil, with the intention of making him an unchallenged power. After the coronation, the holy oil will rub the hands, chest and head of King Charles with the coronation spoon.

This part of the ceremony is considered very sacred. Even II. This was the only part of Elizabeth’s coronation that was not televised. Since the 12th century, British monarchs have been anointed with the coronation spoon, an ancient part of coronation ceremonies.

The original coronation oil was destroyed in a bombing raid during World War II in 1941. Queen Elizabeth’s coronation oil is made from a 17th-century recipe that includes olive oil, sesame, rose, orange blossom, jasmine, musk, amber and civet.

4. Liber Regalis, a medieval book, serves as a guide during the ceremony.


The Liber Regalis or “King’s Book” is a manuscript detailing the order of the coronation. Written in Latin in 1382, it was translated into English for the coronation of James I in 1603. So today’s ceremonies are based on a 1603 translation of a document dating from the 14th century.

5. Westminster Abbey Church has been hosting royal coronations for nearly 1,000 years.

Royal coronation ceremonies have been held at Westminster Abbey Church since William’s coronation in 1066. Westminster Abbey has a rich history of religion and royalty. Important intellectuals of England such as Charles Dickens are buried here. According to many experts, Westminster Abbey symbolizes the ideas that made Britain great.

6. Marshal – the person responsible for organizing British coronations.

Marshal is the highest ranking duke in England. This work was carried out by the Dukes of Norfolk from 1386. His responsibilities include not only organizing British coronations, but also the State Opening of Parliament and the state funerals of monarchs.

7. The new monarch wears several crowns during the ceremony.

Holy Crown of England, St. Edward’s crown is made of gold and adorned with 444 precious stones. King II in 1661. Made for Charles St. Edward’s crown is worn on the head of the monarch during his coronation. After the ceremony, the monarch, emerging from Westminster Abbey, wears the crown of the Imperial State.

You may be interested in:

The British Royal Family is in Confusion Again! What does Prince Harry’s book full of sensational claims say?

Source: 1

Random Post

Leave a reply